, , , , , ,

rockthedub radio 036: The Purge

Crazy to think one of these hasn't happened since Christmas 2016. Actually, it isn't that crazy; shit's been busy around here. I did make a move recently that'll manifest itself on this here podcast...and beyond.

On this set, I did two things: one, I took my love for certain black YouTubers and constructed a narrative in the first chunk of this podcast, featuring material I've loved from Roc Marciano, Quelle Chris, Deal - The Villain, DANGERDOOM, and others. One the flipside, I felt the Purge of the first section was complimented perfectly by Son Raw's RTDMIX, which is a headfuck of a trek through the '90s hip-hop sound, but in a more underground lens. Trust we.

Stream below, download via iTunes, and check the tracklist down bottom.


01/"The last one was ass..."
02/Deal - The Villain - "Legend Blue"
03/"We snuck in that bitch"
04/Quelle Chris ft. Denmark Vessey - "I'm That Ni#%a"
05/Roc Marciano - "Herringbone"
06/"How you feel about it?"
07/J-Zone ft. Al Shid - "Clubba Lang"
08/"She look like she do Chinese..."
09/Knxwledge - "alottanihgaswak"
10/"Black people don't skateboard"
11/DANGERDOOM ft. Black Thought and Vinny Price - "Mad Nice"
12/"I just want you to be safe..."
13/Kanye West ft. Kendrick Lamar - "No More Parties In L.A. (The Life of Paul Version)"
14/"We gotta leave together..."

Son Raw - RTDMIX006

01. Company Flow – 8 Steps to Perfection
02. MF DOOM – Hey
03. Jeru The Damaja – Ain’t The Devil Happy?
04. Goodie Mobb – Fighting
05. Mobb Deep ft. Method Man – Extortion
06. M.O.P – Brownsville
07. Smif N Wessun ft. Heltah Skeltah – Wontime
08. Killarmy – Fair, Love & War
09. Ras Kass – Soul On Ice (Diamond D Remix)
10. Cypress Hill – Illusions (Muggs Remix)
11. The Cenobites – Lex Luger
12. Goretex – Born of Fire
13. Wu-Tang Clan – Older Gods
14. Dj Spooky ft. Kool Keith – Riddim Warfare
15. Bounty Killer ft. Masta Killa – Eyes a Bleed (RZA remix)
16. Misty In Roots – Chopped & Screwed Introlude
17. Cage – Agent Orange
18. Fonky Family – Sans Faire Couler le Sang
19. Hokusai - Black Rose
20. New Kingdom – Mexico or Bust
21. Tricky – You Don’t

No comments: